Oregon Officials Triple Penalty for Marijuana Stores Selling to Minors

Oregon officials have announced that, at least temporarily, they’re tripling the penalty associated with businesses unintentionally selling marijuana or marijuana products to minors. 

The Oregon Liquor Control Commission, which oversees the state’s legal marijuana industry, made the announcement yesterday. The change follows a statewide sting operation which found that almost 20% (1 in 5) of state-licensed marijuana outlets sold cannabis to a customer under the legal age of 21.

“There’s no margin for error on making sure that marijuana doesn’t get in the hands of minors – period,” said commission Chair Paul Rosenbaum in a statement. “The integrity of Oregon’s regulated system depends on industry compliance across the board.”

According to Rosenbaum, the first-time penalty for unintentionally selling to a minor has been tripled, from a 10-day license suspension and a $1,650 fine, to a 30-day suspension and a $4,950 fine.

The new penalties go into effect today, and remain valid for at least six months.

About Anthony Martinelli

Anthony, co-founder and Editor-in-Chief of TheJointBlog, has worked closely with numerous elected officials who support cannabis law reform, including as the former Campaign Manager for Washington State Representative Dave Upthegrove. He has also been published by multiple media outlets, including the Seattle Times. He can be reached at TheJointBlog@TheJointBlog.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *